Andre Matos old bio written by himself


Influences: Eric Adams, Bruce Dikinson, Rob Halford, Kate Bush Last Band: Viper Favorite
Bands: Iron Maiden, Van Halen, Kate Bush, Manowar, Peter Gabriel, Beethoven, Chopin, Sagrado, Mozart, Rush, Queensryche and Caetano Veloso.
Best albuns: Powerslave (Iron Maiden), Sign of the Hammer (Manowar), Fair Warning (Van Halen), Hounds of Love (Kate Bush), Le Concerto pour Violon, Le Concerto pour Piano No.5 (Beethoven), Passion Us (Peter Gabriel), 4 Ballads (Chopin), Grande Espírito (Sagrado), Requiem (Mozart), Scoundrel Days (A-Ha), Roll the Bones (Rush), Stabat Mater (Poulenc), Cavalo de Pau (Alceu Valença), Rage for Order (Queensrÿche), Cores e Nomes (Caetano Veloso), 1985 (Chico Buarque).

Biography

I was born September 14, 1971, in Sao Paulo, Brazil. My musical destiny was picked quite early, when my parents presented me with a piano for my tenth birthday. From that day on, my family has supported me in this pursuit of music with passion.

It has taken many years of practice and discipline for me to reach the level of accomplishment… after all, being a musician is not always about having fun! But I do say I couldn’t imagine myself doing anything else.

I have always believed that it’s important to work hard, but also to listen to your heart, because music is something magical and the magic can’t be put into words or restricted by rules. It should just be allowed to flow! Perhaps some of my creativity comes from my varied influences, which are rooted not just in heavy metal or rock music, but in classical and Brazilian folk as well. The first two albums I have ever bought were by the Van Halen (Fair Warning), but the first concert he ever attended was by Eduardo Dusek, a Brazilian singer, in 1982.

Three years later, I was part of the audience at the historic Rock in Rio festival. Van Halen remains one of my favorite artists to this day, along with Iron Maiden, Kate Bush, Manowar, Peter Gabriel, Beethoven, Chopin, Sagrado, Mozart, Rush, Queensryche and Caetano Veloso. Before I have founded ANGRA in 1991, I was already knowned for fronting VIPER.

I joined this band in my early teens. With VIPER, i recorded two albums and gained plenty of touring experience. When I made a decision to quit, in 1991, my intention was to dedicate myself to classical music.

I studied classical composing and conducting at the University, and continued until graduation in 1994 but in the meantime, ANGRA was formed.

The calling to play metal had come once again. Among all the musical styles, I believe heavy metal is one of the deepest and most powerful ever… For me the only equivalent style is classical music, where you can have basically the same power as a metal band…Heavy metal is also very flexible and varied in itself. It’s got so many different things and we never get tired of them! And finally, heavy metal means somehow a kind of attitude of people who face the World in a very special way. It’s for me definitely the best place I could express myself!"

About Janus

Janus Aureus is my recently-inaugurated personal blog (written in portuguese, but with some texts in english as well). Fiore Rouge is my old (but still very active - in fact, more than Janus :P) blog (I started it back in 2005). Mentalize is a fan-made website (since 2005). if you wish to contact me for any reason, visit my blog and leave a comment OR see email above (top left) - no, my name's not Andre - actually, I'm not even a guy! LOL Long story... O Janus Aureus é meu blog pessoal - escrito em português - ainda sem muito conteúdo, pois foi começado no final de dezembro de 2011. Já o Mentalize foi aberto em 2005 e está escrito em várias línguas *rs* Privilegio o uso do inglês ali porque o pessoal estrangeiro não tem muitas informações sobre o AM. Quem quiser entrar em contato comigo por qualquer motivo, deixe um comentário nos meus blogs ou use o email que está aí em cima à esquerda (e não, eu não sou o Andre - aliás, sou mulher!).

Leave a Reply

